BioAro

Menu Close

Neurology

How can my brain and mental health be impacted by my genetics?

Neurological disorders (brain and mental health) can stem from genetic changes that affect other systems and therefore includes a very broad class of genes. The conditions classed in neurological conditions include development and cognition, headaches, motor control, and pain.
The development of mental health disorders, cognitive degeneration, and the ability for your brain to function at its normal capacity are all linked to your genetics. Genetic testing is not just about diagnosis though, it can dramatically improve the monitoring and treatment of these disorders.

Search for panels of interest

Brain (Neurology) Comprehensive Brain (Neurology) Panel (141 Panels) 18056 https://bioaro.com/ 
Brain (Neurology)  Absence of the Septum Pellucidum 109 https://rarediseases.org/gard-rare-disease/absence-of-septum-pellucidum/  
Brain (Neurology)  Agnosia 31 https://rarediseases.org/rare-diseases/primary-visual-agnosia/  
Brain (Neurology)  Aicardi Goutieres Syndrome Disorder https://medlineplus.gov/genetics/condition/aicardi-syndrome/  
Brain (Neurology)  Alexander Disease https://www.ninds.nih.gov/health-information/disorders/alexander-disease  
Brain (Neurology)  ALS Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis 50 https://www.ninds.nih.gov/amyotrophic-lateral-sclerosis-als-fact-sheet  
Brain (Neurology)  Hemiplegia 34 https://my.clevelandclinic.org/health/symptoms/23542-hemiplegia  
Brain (Neurology)  Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis ALS 50 https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/amyotrophic-lateral-sclerosis/symptoms-causes/syc-20354022  
Brain (Neurology)  Anencephaly 64 https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/birthdefects/anencephaly.html  
Brain (Neurology)  Angelman Syndrome https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/angelman-syndrome/symptoms-causes/syc-20355621  
Brain (Neurology)  Aphasia 155 https://www.hopkinsmedicine.org/health/conditions-and-diseases/aphasia  
Brain (Neurology)  Apraxia 244 https://rarediseases.org/rare-diseases/apraxia/  
Brain (Neurology)  Arteriovenous Malformation 54 https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/arteriovenous-malformation/symptoms-causes/syc-20350544  
Brain (Neurology)  Ataxia Telangiectasia https://rarediseases.org/rare-diseases/ataxia-telangiectasia/  
Brain (Neurology)  Atrial Fibrillation and Stroke 215 https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/atrial-fibrillation/symptoms-causes/syc-20350624  
Brain (Neurology)  Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder 383 https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/adhd/facts.html  
Brain (Neurology)  Autism (v0.22) 25 https://www.nimh.nih.gov/health/topics/autism-spectrum-disorders-asd  
Brain (Neurology)  Autism  209 https://www.nimh.nih.gov/health/topics/autism-spectrum-disorders-asd  
Brain (Neurology)  Back Pain 65 https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/back-pain/symptoms-causes/syc-20369906  
Brain (Neurology)  Barth Syndrome https://medlineplus.gov/genetics/condition/barth-syndrome/  
Brain (Neurology)  Behcet Disease 13 https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/behcets-disease/symptoms-causes/syc-20351326  
Brain (Neurology)  Facial Palsy 215 https://www.facialpalsy.org.uk/inform/what-is-facial-palsy/  
Brain (Neurology)  Blepharospasm 34 https://www.nei.nih.gov/learn-about-eye-health/eye-conditions-and-diseases/blepharospasm  
Brain (Neurology)  Canavan Disease https://rarediseases.org/rare-diseases/canavan-disease/  
Brain (Neurology)  Carpal Tunnel Syndrome https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/carpal-tunnel-syndrome/symptoms-causes/syc-20355603  
Brain (Neurology)  Pain 738 https://www.hopkinsmedicine.org/pain/blaustein_pain_center/index.html  
Brain (Neurology)  Cerebellar Hypoplasia (v1.54)  43 https://www.ninds.nih.gov/health-information/disorders/cerebellar-hypoplasia  
Brain (Neurology)  Cerebral Atrophy 723 https://my.clevelandclinic.org/health/diseases/22515-brain-atrophy  
Brain (Neurology)  Cerebral Cavernous Malformation https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/cavernous-malformations/symptoms-causes/syc-20360941  
Brain (Neurology)  Cerebral Palsy 46 https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/cp/facts.html  
Brain (Neurology)  Cerebro Oculo Facio Skeletal Syndrome COFS https://www.ninds.nih.gov/health-information/disorders/cerebro-oculo-facio-skeletal-syndrome-cofs  
Brain (Neurology)  Chiari Malformation 88 https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/chiari-malformation/symptoms-causes/syc-20354010  
Brain (Neurology)  Childhood onset dystonia or chorea or related movement disorder (v1.140) 145 https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/movement-disorders/symptoms-causes/syc-20363893  
Brain (Neurology)  Adult onset movement disorder (v1.122) 65 https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/movement-disorders/symptoms-causes/syc-20363893  
Brain (Neurology)  Chronic Inflammatory Demyelinating Polyneuropathy CIDP https://www.hopkinsmedicine.org/health/conditions-and-diseases/chronic-inflammatory-demyelinating-polyradiculoneuropathy  
Brain (Neurology)  Chronic Pain https://www.hopkinsmedicine.org/health/conditions-and-diseases/chronic-pain  
Brain (Neurology)  Colpocephaly 20 https://www.ninds.nih.gov/health-information/disorders/colpocephaly  
Brain (Neurology)  Coma 92 https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/coma/  
Brain (Neurology)  Congenital Myasthenia 25 https://medlineplus.gov/genetics/condition/congenital-myasthenic-syndrome/  
Brain (Neurology)  Congenital Myopathy 56 https://www.ninds.nih.gov/health-information/disorders/congenital-myopathy  
Brain (Neurology)  Craniosynostosis (v2.50) 54 https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/birthdefects/craniosynostosis.html 
Brain (Neurology)  Common craniosynostosis syndromes (v1.13) https://www.hopkinsmedicine.org/health/conditions-and-diseases/craniosynostosis  
Brain (Neurology)  Cushing Syndrome (Increased circulating cortisol level) 21 https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/cushing-syndrome/symptoms-causes/syc-20351310  
Brain (Neurology)  Early onset dementia (encompassing fronto-temporal dementia and prion disease) (v1.48) 16 https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/alzheimers-disease/in-depth/alzheimers/art-20048356  
Brain (Neurology)  Dementia 186 https://www.cdc.gov/aging/dementia/index.html  
Brain (Neurology)  Dementia With Lewy Bodies https://my.clevelandclinic.org/health/diseases/17815-lewy-body-dementia  
Brain (Neurology)  Familial dysautonomia (v1.13) 14 https://my.clevelandclinic.org/health/diseases/6004-dysautonomia  
Brain (Neurology)  Dysautonomia (abnormal autonomic nervous system physiology) 125 https://my.clevelandclinic.org/health/diseases/6004-dysautonomia  
Brain (Neurology)  Dysgraphia 52 https://my.clevelandclinic.org/health/diseases/23294-dysgraphia  
Brain (Neurology)  Dyslexia 30 https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/dyslexia/symptoms-causes/syc-20353552  
Brain (Neurology)  Encephalopathy 290 https://www.ninds.nih.gov/health-information/disorders/encephalopathy  
Brain (Neurology)  Epilepsy 407 https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/epilepsy/symptoms-causes/syc-20350093  
Brain (Neurology)  Mucopolysaccharideosis, Gaucher, Fabry (v1.2) 17 https://medlineplus.gov/ency/article/001204.htm  
Brain (Neurology)  Periodic Paralysis 11 https://medlineplus.gov/genetics/condition/hypokalemic-periodic-paralysis/  
Brain (Neurology)  Febrile Seizures (3 months to 6 years) 105 https://www.ninds.nih.gov/febrile-seizures-fact-sheet  
Brain (Neurology)  Foot Drop (Foot dorsiflexor weakness) 98 https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/foot-drop/symptoms-causes/syc-20372628  
Brain (Neurology)  Ataxia 948 https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/ataxia/  
Brain (Neurology)  Friedreich’s Ataxia https://www.ninds.nih.gov/friedreich-ataxia-fact-sheet  
Brain (Neurology)  Frontotemporal Dementia 29 https://www.hopkinsmedicine.org/health/conditions-and-diseases/dementia/frontotemporal-dementia  
Brain (Neurology)  Headache 308 https://www.mayoclinic.org/symptoms/headache/basics/definition/sym-20050800  
Brain (Neurology)  Hemifacial Spasm 12 https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/hemifacial-spasm/symptoms-causes/syc-20373296  
Brain (Neurology)  Hereditary neuropathy (v1.399) 154 https://www.ninds.nih.gov/health-information/disorders/hereditary-neuropathies  
Brain (Neurology)  Hereditary Spastic Paraplegia (v1.232) 63 https://www.ninds.nih.gov/health-information/disorders/hereditary-spastic-paraplegia  
Brain (Neurology)  Hereditary Spastic Paraplegia - adult onset (v1.28) 68 https://rarediseases.org/rare-diseases/hereditary-spastic-paraplegia/  
Brain (Neurology)  Hereditary Spastic Paraplegia - childhood onset (v2.49) 69 https://rarediseases.org/rare-diseases/hereditary-spastic-paraplegia/  
Brain (Neurology)  Holoprosencephaly (v2.18) 11 https://rarediseases.org/rare-diseases/holoprosencephaly/  
Brain (Neurology)  Huntington’s Disease https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/huntingtons-disease/symptoms-causes/syc-20356117  
Brain (Neurology)  Hydranencephaly https://www.ninds.nih.gov/health-information/disorders/hydranencephaly  
Brain (Neurology)  Hydrocephalus (v2.115) 69 https://www.ninds.nih.gov/hydrocephalus-fact-sheet  
Brain (Neurology)  Hypersomnia 12 https://my.clevelandclinic.org/health/diseases/21591-hypersomnia  
Brain (Neurology)  Hypertonia 1069 https://www.ninds.nih.gov/health-information/disorders/hypertonia  
Brain (Neurology)  Hypotonia 1716 https://www.ninds.nih.gov/health-information/disorders/hypotonia  
Brain (Neurology)  Incontinentia Pigmenti https://my.clevelandclinic.org/health/articles/6042-incontinentia-pigmenti  
Brain (Neurology)  neurodegeneration with brain iron accumulation 2A https://www.ninds.nih.gov/health-information/disorders/neurodegeneration-brain-iron-accumulation  
Brain (Neurology)  Infantile Refsum Disease 13 https://www.ninds.nih.gov/health-information/disorders/infantile-refsum-disease  
Brain (Neurology)  Infantile Spasms 106 https://www.ninds.nih.gov/health-information/disorders/infantile-spasms  
Brain (Neurology)  Rare multisystem ciliopathy disorders (v1.142) 93 https://www.sciencedirect.com/topics/neuroscience/ciliopathy  
Brain (Neurology)  Kennedy's Disease https://rarediseases.org/rare-diseases/kennedy-disease/  
Brain (Neurology)  Cranioectodermal dysplasia https://medlineplus.gov/genetics/condition/cranioectodermal-dysplasia/  
Brain (Neurology)  Krabbe Disease https://medlineplus.gov/genetics/condition/krabbe-disease/  
Brain (Neurology)  Inherited white matter disorders (leukodystrophy) (v1.130) 123 https://rarediseases.org/rare-diseases/leukodystrophy/  
Brain (Neurology)  White matter disorders - childhood onset (v6.1742) 1473 https://my.clevelandclinic.org/health/articles/6034-leukodystrophy  
Brain (Neurology)  White matter disorders - adult onset (v1.26) 76 https://my.clevelandclinic.org/health/articles/6034-leukodystrophy  
Brain (Neurology)  Lipoid Proteinosis https://www.ninds.nih.gov/health-information/disorders/lipoid-proteinosis  
Brain (Neurology)  Lissencephaly 161 https://www.ninds.nih.gov/health-information/disorders/lissencephaly  
Brain (Neurology)  Megalencephaly 42 https://www.ninds.nih.gov/health-information/disorders/megalencephaly  
Brain (Neurology)  Meningitis 77 https://www.cdc.gov/meningitis/index.html  
Brain (Neurology)  Menkes Disease https://medlineplus.gov/genetics/condition/menkes-syndrome/  
Brain (Neurology)  Microcephaly 1256 https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/birthdefects/microcephaly.html  
Brain (Neurology)  Severe microcephaly (v2.220) 89 https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/birthdefects/microcephaly.html  
Brain (Neurology)  Migraine 127 https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/migraine-headache/symptoms-causes/syc-20360201  
Brain (Neurology)  Mitochondrial Myopathy 65 https://www.ninds.nih.gov/health-information/disorders/mitochondrial-myopathies  
Brain (Neurology)  Monomelic Amyotrophy https://www.ninds.nih.gov/health-information/disorders/monomelic-amyotrophy  
Brain (Neurology)  Cerebral vascular malformations (v2.57) 14 https://rarediseases.org/rare-diseases/vascular-malformations-of-the-brain/  
Brain (Neurology)  Moyamoya Disease https://www.ninds.nih.gov/health-information/disorders/moyamoya-disease  
Brain (Neurology)  Multiple System Atrophy https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/multiple-system-atrophy/symptoms-causes/syc-20356153  
Brain (Neurology)  Multiple System Atrophy with Orthostatic Hypotension 41 https://my.clevelandclinic.org/health/diseases/6081-multiple-system-atrophy-with-orthostatic-hypotension  
Brain (Neurology)  Muscular Dystrophy 78 https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/musculardystrophy/facts.html  
Brain (Neurology)  Limb girdle muscular dystrophy (v2.20) 59 https://medlineplus.gov/genetics/condition/limb-girdle-muscular-dystrophy/  
Brain (Neurology)  Congenital muscular dystrophy (v2.15) 35 https://rarediseases.org/rare-diseases/congenital-muscular-dystrophy/  
Brain (Neurology)  Myoclonus 361 https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/myoclonus/symptoms-causes/syc-20350459  
Brain (Neurology)  Myopathy 323 https://www.ninds.nih.gov/health-information/disorders/myopathy  
Brain (Neurology)  Skeletal muscle channelopathy (v1.31) 14 https://www.uclh.nhs.uk/our-services/find-service/neurology-and-neurosurgery/skeletal-muscle-channelopathies  
Brain (Neurology)  Narcolepsy https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/narcolepsy/symptoms-causes/syc-20375497  
Brain (Neurology)  Neurofibromatosis Type 1 (v1.26)  24 https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/neurofibromatosis/symptoms-causes/syc-20350490  
Brain (Neurology)  Pick Disease https://my.clevelandclinic.org/health/diseases/22637-picks-disease  
Brain (Neurology)  Normal Pressure Hydrocephalus https://www.ninds.nih.gov/health-information/disorders/normal-pressure-hydrocephalus  
Brain (Neurology)  Developmental and epileptic encephalopathy (Ohtahara Syndrome) 16 https://medlineplus.gov/genetics/condition/developmental-and-epileptic-encephalopathy-1/  
Brain (Neurology)  Olivopontocerebellar Atrophy https://rarediseases.org/rare-diseases/olivopontocerebellar-atrophy/  
Brain (Neurology)  Opsoclonus Myoclonus 366 https://www.ninds.nih.gov/health-information/disorders/opsoclonus-myoclonus  
Brain (Neurology)  Orthostatic Hypotension 41 https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/orthostatic-hypotension/symptoms-causes/syc-20352548  
Brain (Neurology)  Paresthesia 113 https://www.ninds.nih.gov/health-information/disorders/paresthesia  
Brain (Neurology)  Parkinson Disease and Complex Parkinsonism (v1.70) 35 https://www.nia.nih.gov/health/parkinsons-disease  
Brain (Neurology)  Paroxysmal Choreoathetosis https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/vertigo/symptoms-causes/syc-20370055  
Brain (Neurology)  Peripheral Neuropathy 462 https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/peripheral-neuropathy/symptoms-causes/syc-20352061  
Brain (Neurology)  Periventricular Leukomalacia 36 https://medlineplus.gov/ency/article/007232.htm  
Brain (Neurology)  Neuroma https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/mortons-neuroma/symptoms-causes/syc-20351935  
Brain (Neurology)  Glycogen Storage disease II https://rarediseases.info.nih.gov/diseases/5714/glycogen-storage-disease-type-2  
Brain (Neurology)  Primary Lateral Sclerosis https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/primary-lateral-sclerosis/symptoms-causes/syc-20353968  
Brain (Neurology)  Refsum Disease https://www.ninds.nih.gov/health-information/disorders/refsum-disease  
Brain (Neurology)  Rett Syndrome https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/rett-syndrome/symptoms-causes/syc-20377227  
Brain (Neurology)  Sandhoff Disease https://www.ninds.nih.gov/health-information/disorders/sandhoff-disease  
Brain (Neurology)  Schizencephaly https://www.ninds.nih.gov/health-information/disorders/schizencephaly  
Brain (Neurology)  Sleep Apnea 109 https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/sleep-apnea/symptoms-causes/syc-20377631  
Brain (Neurology)  Beckwith-Wiedemann syndrome (BWS) and other congenital overgrowth disorders (v1.115) 22 https://medlineplus.gov/genetics/condition/beckwith-wiedemann-syndrome/  
Brain (Neurology)  Sotos syndrome https://medlineplus.gov/genetics/condition/sotos-syndrome/  
Brain (Neurology)  Spasticity 878 https://www.ninds.nih.gov/health-information/disorders/spasticity  
Brain (Neurology)  Spina Bifida 155 https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/spina-bifida/symptoms-causes/syc-20377860  
Brain (Neurology)  Spinal Muscular Atrophy 23 https://my.clevelandclinic.org/health/diseases/14505-spinal-muscular-atrophy-sma  
Brain (Neurology)  Stroke 167 https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/stroke/symptoms-causes/syc-20350113  
Brain (Neurology)  Syncope 106 https://www.hopkinsmedicine.org/health/conditions-and-diseases/syncope-fainting  
Brain (Neurology)  Syringomyelia 25 https://www.ninds.nih.gov/syringomyelia-fact-sheet  
Brain (Neurology)  Todds Paralysis 145 https://www.ninds.nih.gov/health-information/disorders/todds-paralysis  
Brain (Neurology)  Transient Ischemic Attack 55 https://medlineplus.gov/transientischemicattack.html  
Brain (Neurology)  Tremor 562 https://www.ninds.nih.gov/tremor-fact-sheet  
Brain (Neurology)  Trigeminal Neuralgia 13 https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/trigeminal-neuralgia/symptoms-causes/syc-20353344  
Brain (Neurology)  Troyer Syndrome https://medlineplus.gov/genetics/condition/troyer-syndrome/  
Brain (Neurology)  Classical tuberous sclerosis (v1.2) https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/tuberous-sclerosis/symptoms-causes/syc-20365969  
Brain (Neurology)  Von Hippel Lindau Disease (VHL) https://medlineplus.gov/genetics/condition/von-hippel-lindau-syndrome/  
Brain (Neurology)  Williams Syndrome https://medlineplus.gov/genetics/condition/williams-syndrome/  
Brain (Neurology)  Wilson Disease https://rarediseases.org/rare-diseases/wilson-disease/  
Brain (Neurology)  Zellweger Syndrome 13 https://my.clevelandclinic.org/health/articles/6116-zellweger-syndrome 

What health conditions are available to be analysed right now?

Our booking portal is currently being optimized, for any inquiries you can click 'Book Now' to reach out through the Contact Us page.